Department of National Defence.—The Royal Canadian Corps of Signals operates, in addition to stations established for military purposes, 17 permanent stations and 2 summer stations situated along the Mackenzie river and in Yukon on behalf of the Bureau of Northwest Territories and Yukon Affairs, Department of Mines and Resources.

Department of Public Works.—Seventeen stations are operated to provide emergency communication between the mainland and certain islands, and 5 stations to provide emergency links in existing landline circuits.

Department of Mines and Resources.—This Department operates one experimental station at the Dominion Observatory for the transmission of time signals, and 4 private commercial and 2 experimental stations in the National Parks of Canada.

Subsection 2.-Provincial Government Radio Stations,

British Columbia.—The Department of Lands operates 8 ship stations, 12 private commercial stations and 9 experimental stations in connection with forest fire protection services. Under the Attorney-General's Department the provincial police operate 4 ship stations and 25 private commercial stations, and the Game Commission operates 3 ship stations.

Saskatchewan.—Department of Natural Resources operates 22 private commercial stations and 3 experimental stations in connection with forest fire protection services; Saskatchewan Power Commission operates 2 experimental stations and 12 commercial receiving stations (in service trucks, etc.) to provide emergency radio communication during power-line failures, etc.

Manitoba.—The Department of Mines and Natural Resources operates 2 private commercial stations and 1 aircraft station in connection with survey parties.

Ontario.—The Forestry Service operates in northwestern Ontario, 5 public commercial stations furnishing a point-to-point radiotelephone service, 4 public commercial stations furnishing a point-to-point radiotelegraph service and 4 public commercial stations furnishing a ground-to-plane radiotelephone service to aviation companies operating in that area; 23 private commercial stations and 38 experimental stations in connection with forest fire protection services.

Subsection 3.—Privately-Owned Commercial Stations.

From Table 1 it will be noted that there were 7 limited coast stations, 58 public commercial stations, and 399 private commercial stations in operation in the Dominion at Mar. 31, 1938. A public commercial station situated at Drummondville, Que., provides transoceanic radiotelegraph and radiotelephone services to Great Britain and Australia. These stations are similar in one respect, in that they are owned and operated by private individuals or companies incorporated under the laws of the Dominion, or one of the provinces thereof.

The limited coast stations, although privately owned, provide ship-to-shore communication services open to the public. One of these stations, owned and operated by the Canadian Marconi Co., situated at Louisburg, N.S., provides a long-range service to ships at sea. The services performed by commercial stations, both public and private, are many and varied. Generally speaking, these stations are located in areas not otherwise served by telephone, telegraph, or other means of telecommunication. The majority of these stations perform a point-to-point radiotelegraph or radiotelephone service, although an increasing number are being utilized